EART111 Mathematics in the Earth Sciences - Fall 2019

Instructor: Prof. Francis Nimmo
A219 Earth & Marine Sciences Bldg.
tel. +1-831-459-1783
fnimmo@ucsc.edu

Office hours: Mon and Tues 1:15-2:15 pm room A219 (or by appointment)



TA: Brynna Downey (bgdowney@ucsc.edu)
Office hours: 2-3pm Friday and 5-6pm Monday (location C303)

Class meets Tues Thus, 11:40-1:15 in D250

Discussion Sections are 6:00-8:00 pm Mon and 3:30-5:30 pm Thurs, both in D250

Textbooks are not required for this class. If you want to do additional reading, Stewart "Calculus" (5th ed.) and Kreyszig "Advanced Engineering Mathematics" (9th ed.) are good.

Click here for the Syllabus (PDF format)

Click here for further Details on the Course, including advice on problem sets, grading scheme etc.

This course assumes a knowledge of basic calculus and trigonometry. If you can't do the problems listed here easily then you are unlikely to pass the class.

For online practice of calculus problems, here are three good sites to look at: Calculus on the Web (Books I and II); some worked problems from UC Davis; and some worked problems from Lamar University. Another useful resource is www.calculus.org.

You can download problem sets and lecture handouts below.

Problem sets are due to FN's mailbox by 6pm each Tuesday. Late homework will be penalized at 10% per day (see here for more details). In calculating your final grade I will discard the lowest problem set grade.

I grade on a curve. The balance of homework and test scores will be roughly 30/70. For exams the pass mark is roughly 50%. You must pass the Final to pass the class.

GEOPATHS is a new program that provides extra problem-solving sessions for students taking this class. Please sign up.

If you qualify for classroom accommodations because of a disability, please get an Accommodation Authorization from the Disability Resource Center (DRC) and submit it to me in person outside of class (e.g. office hour) within the first two weeks of the quarter. Contact DRC at (831) 459-2089.

Date
Thu Sep 26 Lecture 1 Calculus practice
Tue Oct 1 Lecture 1 (cont.)
Thu Oct 3 Lecture 2 Maclaurin practice Problem Set 1 Answers
Tue Oct 8 Lecture 3
Thu Oct 10 Power cut - no lecture Problem Set 2 Answers
Tue Oct 15 Lecture 4 3D geometry practice Problem Set 3 Answers
Thu Oct 17 Lecture 5
Tue Oct 22 Lecture 6 Partial differential practice Problem Set 4 Answers
Thu Oct 24 Lecture 7
Tue Oct 29 Midterm Answers
Formula sheet Example midterm Example answers
Example midterm (2) Example answers (2)
Thu Oct 31 Lecture 8 Gradient & Critical point practice Problem Set 5 Answers
Tue Nov 5 Lecture 9 Divergence and curl practice
Thu Nov 7 Lecture 10 Matrix practice Problem Set 6 Answers
Tue Nov 12 Lecture 11 Determinant and Inverse practice
Thu Nov 14 Lecture 12 Eigenvector practice Problem Set 7 Answers
Tue Nov 19 Lecture 13 First order DE practice
Thu Nov 21 Lecture 14 Problem Set 8 Answers
Tue Nov 26 Lecture 15 Second order DE practice
Thurs Nov 28 Thanksgiving
Tues Dec 3 Lecture 16 Nonhomogeneous ODE practice Problem Set 9 (optional) Answers
Thurs Dec 5 Revision Lecture

Formula sheet for the Final is here

The Final is Weds 11th Dec 8:00-11:00 am.

You can look at a previous year's final and answers

Here's a recent final and answers

And here's one more final and answers

Back to Department Home Page