EART111 Mathematics in the Earth Sciences - Fall 2018

Instructor: Prof. Francis Nimmo
A219 Earth & Marine Sciences Bldg.
tel. +1-831-459-1783
fnimmo@ucsc.edu

Office hours: Tues 3:05-4:05 pm and Mon 3:30-4:30 pm room A219 (or by appointment)



TA: John O'Brien (jopobrie@ucsc.edu)
Office hours: 4-5 pm Weds and 3:30-5:30 pm Thurs in D231

Class meets Tues Thus, 1:30 to 3:05 in D258

Discussion Sections are 1:45-3:45 pm Weds and 3:30-5:30 Thurs, both in D258

Textbooks are not required for this class. If you want to do additional reading, Stewart "Calculus" (5th ed.) and Kreyszig "Advanced Engineering Mathematics" (9th ed.) are good.

Click here for the Syllabus (PDF format)

Click here for further Details on the Course, including advice on problem sets, grading scheme etc.

This course assumes a knowledge of basic calculus and trigonometry. If you can't do the problems listed here easily then you are unlikely to pass the class.

For online practice of calculus problems, here are three good sites to look at: Calculus on the Web (Books I and II); some worked problems from UC Davis; and some worked problems from Lamar University. Another useful resource is www.calculus.org.

You can download problem sets and lecture handouts below. Problem sets are due to FN's mailbox by 6pm each Tuesday. Late homework will be penalized at 10% per day (see here for more details).

If you qualify for classroom accommodations because of a disability, please get an Accommodation Authorization from the Disability Resource Center (DRC) and submit it to me in person outside of class (e.g. office hour) within the first two weeks of the quarter. Contact DRC at (831) 459-2089.

Date
Thu Sep 27 Lecture 1 Problem Set 1 Answers Calculus practice
Tue Oct 2 Lecture 1 (cont.)
Thu Oct 4 Lecture 2 Maclaurin practice
Tue Oct 9 Lecture 3 Problem Set 2 Answers
Thu Oct 11 Lecture 4
Tue Oct 16 Lecture 5 Problem Set 3 Answers 3D geometry practice
Thu Oct 18 Lecture 6 Partial differential practice
Tue Oct 23 Lecture 7 Problem Set 4 Answers Gradient & Critical point practice
Thu Oct 25 Lecture 8
Tue Oct 30 Lecture 9 Divergence and Curl practice
Thu Nov 1 Midterm Answers
Formula sheet Example midterm Example answers
Example midterm (2) Example answers (2)
Tue Nov 6 Lecture 11 Problem Set 5 Matrix practice
Thu Nov 8 Lecture 12 Determinant and Inverse practice
Tue Nov 13 Lecture 13 Problem Set 6 Eigenvector practice
Thu Nov 15 Lecture 14
Tue Nov 20 Lecture 15 First order DE practice
Thu Nov 22Thanksgiving
Tue Nov 27 Lecture 16 Second order DE practice
Thu Nov 29 Lecture 17 Nonhomogeneous ODE practice
Tue Dec 4 Lecture 18 Separation of Variables practice
Thu Dec 6Revision lecture

Formula sheet for the Final is here

The Final is Thurs 13th Dec 12:00-3:00 pm.

You can look at a previous year's final and answers

Here's a recent final and answers

And here's one more final

Back to Department Home Page